Review: George Tint N Pout Tinted Lip Oil in Barely There

george-tint-n-pout-lip-oil-in-barely-there

So much for only buying what I need in 2017, I’ve fallen victim to another impulse buy this month. However, I have never tried a lip oil before and while picking up bits for dinner I could not resist buying an everyday lip oil.

The George Tint N Pout Tinted Lip Oil in Barely There, promises to “Nourish & Moisture Lips with Marula Shea Butter” which seemed like a great combination to me as you get the benefit of a light lip colour while adding moisture and keeping your lips hydrated. There are 3 colours within this range 01 Barely There the colour I picked here, while the other two I cannot find the shade names online but there is a brighter coral pink as well as a more berry colour so there is a nice but small collection.

The packaging is simple; the thin black tube is simple but hits the mark it is not too bulky and will fit in most makeup bags it. It’s actually really slim and I can fit this in my purse itself, it is a decent sized purse but it’s nice to know how easily it can fit. The applicator is the standard doe foot applicator, which is my preferred type of applicator for these kind of products as it provides accurate and easy application. So, nothing outstanding for packaging, but it doesn’t need anything more.

In all honestly I wasn’t sure what to expect the mixture of never using a lip oil and with no research and little exploration into the George makeup range, I felt as though I had a perfect blank slate to truly look at the product for what it is. I felt immediately apprehensive upon opening the product, resembling a gloss and seeing glitter I wondered what I had got myself in for despite expecting a more glossy texture the glitter really through me off. I used to love gloss but in reality its sticky, greasy and often unpleasant on the lips for any period of time. Thankfully although the lips look glossy and feel a tiny bit greasy over the course of 5/10 minutes the product dries almost completely. And the glitter? Pretty much non-existence, phew! I was really dreading that. I love the fact the glossiness doesn’t necessarily last and its only a short while of unpleasantness.

As for the colour when you initially put the product on it mainly resembles a clear lip gloss, just emphasising your natural lip colour. As it dries the colour really develops and you end up with a really pink lip, still natural looking but the “barely there” statement is no longer true you become aware and its noticeable that you are wearing a pink lip colour. So if you were looking for nude, this is not it sadly but the colour is nice it’s just not what you’d expect for this product. Your lips become stained with a pretty pink colour, that you don’t have to worry about as the colour will stay all day.

All in all I am glad I tried this, it adds a little bit of moisture to the lips nothing life changing but if you want a no makeup day it’s a little more interesting than lip balm. Its also worth keeping in mind that colour develops over time but all in all its not a bad product.

Let me know what your experience with lip tints or lip oils are and would you recommend them?

Gwen

xx

3 thoughts on “Review: George Tint N Pout Tinted Lip Oil in Barely There

Leave a Reply

