Review: The Body Shop Shade Adjusting Drops in Lightening

The Body Shop Shade Adjusting Drops Lightening

We’ve all had a foundation that isn’t quite right, whether our skin tone has altered with the time of year or its impossible to find the right shade in your budget. Worst of all with foundation which I experienced recently, which a foundation I had been buying for years no problem has now started to oxadise and go orange on my skin. Can The Body Shop Shade adjusting drops save me?

According to The Body Shop website the drops will: “If you have light to medium skin you may find your foundation looks too dark or orange. A concentration of white and pink pigments in our Lightening Drops helps neutralise yellowness while lightening. Simply add a drop to lighten light to medium shades.

I’d like to start with saying how much I love the packaging, but I am a sucker for a simple design and a glass bottle. I also enjoy the rubber tip and pipette for application as I should provide more control on product volume. Saying that the pipette feels like more of a design feature rather than a practical applicator and from looking online I do not seem to be the only person who struggles with this. I have found that it is much better to simply wipe the product on the outside of the pipette on to the back of my hand to mix with my foundation. It is such a shame that it fails as it is such a good idea, and should work really well in principle but it doesn’t. I personally feel as though the sucker is just not powerful enough or its not made for the viscosity of the foundation, so either it needs a whole rethink or an improved pipette.

The Body Shop Shade Adjusting Drops Lightening Swatch

The product itself is simply beautiful. I’ve tried it with a larger variety of foundations covering a variety of coverage and consistencies, so far having nothing less than great results. The lightening drops combine well with all of my foundations, without effecting the integrity of the foundation which was concern initially. It also didn’t seem to have any impact on the lasting power of products so all in all a good product.

I’m so glad I picked this up, as I do sometimes struggle to find the right shade and this provides a lot of customization to colour of foundation. If you struggle to find a pale enough shade, or simply constantly pick up the wrong shade this will ensure you get use out of the products you buy. The packaging and application is a bit of a dud, so hopefully they will change it but the drops themselves are a huge life saver

Have you tried The Body Shop Shade Adjusting Drops in Lightening? If so how did you get on? Similarly have you tried the darkening drops as I am curious about those too.

Gwen

xx

Leave a Reply

