Review: Barry M Flawless Mist & Fix Makeup Setting Spray – Matte Finish

Barry M Flawless Mist & Fix Setting Spray Matte Finish

We all want our makeup to last, whether is for a night out, long day or ensuring it withstands the heat/weather we all want to stay looking perfect all day. I am always on the hunt for a budget friendly setting spray and with an offer on a Boots a bit back, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to try something new. The Barry M Mist & Fix Setting Spray comes with two finishes either Matte or Dewy, personally I prefer a matte finish which is the one I will be reviewing here today. So, what’s the verdict on the Barry M Flawless Mist & Fix, Makeup Setting Spray Matte Finish?

First and foremost, the packaging a topic I usually start with as its always the first thing that attracts you to a product and really makes a huge difference to what you think of it. I must say I find the packaging for the setting spray a little lack lustre, the spray bottle itself is what you’d expect so it’s not where I am disappointed. Within a few days, the label started to peel off, a thick tacky label which is unattractive and makes me want to hide the bottle away. I am aware the aesthetic is very much Barry M but it’s made me realise that other brands such as Primark make a much more sophisticated and more aesthetically pleasing item for the same price point.

There’s no hidden tricks, with these products just a simple mist on the face and your makeup should stay all day. This product has a nice light mist which isn’t too wet or too big droplets which will affect the integrity of your perfectly applied makeup. What I will say is the spray does not spread too far so you need to make the effort to spray round your face opposed to two pumps and your gone. For the budget end through I rather make the effort to ensure coverage rather than have a non-light mist so I can deal with the compromise for such a low price point.

Now the most important thing, did it keep my face matte and my makeup last all day? The result, well kind of. I don’t tend to have an issue with oiliness so the fact my face was still matte at the end of the day wasn’t a huge surprise but I am currently preferring a matte finish to a dewy one, which influenced my decision process. As for the long-lasting effect? It was somewhat there, I did put it properly to the test trailing it on a hot day, and one of those days at work where I never seemed to sit down at my desk for any longer than 5 minutes. Both occasions my makeup held reasonably well, staying reasonably well but it was clear that my makeup had started to wear away on my forehead and some other spots. A full-on day or heat, just isn’t in this products capability and I think I maybe expected a little too much of it. Where I am really finding a love for this setting spray though is when wetting by brush before applying powder based products it just adds something extra to the colours and the staying power of what I wear so it will be put to good use.

Unfortunately, the Barry M Flawless Mist & Fix Makeup Setting Spray, Matte Finish didn’t quite live up to my expectations. Let me know in the comments which setting spray I should try next, I’m looking for that holy grail item so I cannot wait to hear your opinions.

Gwen

xx

Leave a Reply

